Hogs to host Bucknell at Bud Walton Arena

By: Matt Jones
Published: Sunday, August 20, 2017
Bucknell Bison guard Nate Jones (15) talks to Bucknell Bison head coach Nathan Davis during the second half of a first-round men's college basketball game against the West Virginia Mountaineers in the NCAA Tournament, Thursday, March 16, 2017, in Buffalo, N.Y. West Virginia won, 86-80. (AP Photo/Bill Wippert)
Bucknell Bison guard Nate Jones (15) talks to Bucknell Bison head coach Nathan Davis during the second half of a first-round men's college basketball game against the West Virginia Mountaineers in the NCAA Tournament, Thursday, March 16, 2017, in Buffalo, N.Y. West Virginia won, 86-80. (AP Photo/Bill Wippert)

— Arkansas will host Bucknell for a basketball game at Bud Walton Arena in the coming season, according to a schedule released by Bucknell earlier this week.

The game - part of an on-campus extension to the Phil Knight Invitational - will be played Sunday, Nov. 12, two days after both teams' regular season opener. Arkansas will open against Samford; Bucknell at Monmouth on Nov. 10.

The Razorbacks and Bison have not played since the first round of the 2006 NCAA Tournament, a 59-55 Bucknell win in Dallas. It is the only previous meeting between the programs.

Bucknell was 26-9 last season and lost 86-80 to West Virginia in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. The Bison have won six of the past seven regular season championships in the Patriot League.

The matchup with Bucknell is one of the Razorbacks' 12 known nonconference games for the 2017-18 season. Arkansas is expected to play 13 nonconference games.

Dates TBA

vs. Colorado State

Set Dates

Friday, Nov. 10 – Samford

Sunday, Nov. 12 - Bucknell

Friday, Nov. 17 - Fresno State

Thursday, Nov. 23 - vs. Oklahoma (Phil Knight Invitational in Portland, Ore.)

Friday, Nov. 24 - vs. North Carolina/Portland (Phil Knight Invitational in Portland, Ore.)

Sunday, Nov. 26 - TBA (Phil Knight Invitational in Portland, Ore.)

Saturday, Dec. 2 - at Houston

Saturday, Dec. 9 – Minnesota

Saturday, Dec. 16 – Troy (North Little Rock)

Wednesday, Dec. 27 – Cal State Bakersfield

Saturday, Jan. 27 – Oklahoma State

Discussion

Have a comment on this story? Join the discussion or start a new one on the Forums.