Campbell, Rutledge semifinalists for Golden Spikes Award

By: Matt Jones
Published: Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Arkansas pitcher Isaiah Campbell throws to a Mississippi State batter during a game Thursday, April 18, 2019, in Fayetteville.
Photo by Charlie Kaijo
Arkansas pitcher Isaiah Campbell throws to a Mississippi State batter during a game Thursday, April 18, 2019, in Fayetteville.

— One current and one former Arkansas pitcher are semifinalists for one of college baseball's top individual honors.

Arkansas pitcher Isaiah Campbell is one 25 semifinalists for the Golden Spikes Award that were announced Wednesday. The Golden Spikes Award, presented USA Baseball, and Dick Howser Trophy, presented by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, are given each June to the national player of the year.

Also a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes is former Arkansas pitcher Jackson Rutledge, who is pitching this season at San Jacinto College in Texas. Rutledge is the fourth JUCO player to be a semifinalist.

Finalists will be announced May 29 and the winner will be announced June 14 prior to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

Campbell is one of 10 semifinalists from the Southeastern Conference. Others are Texas A&M pitchers John Doxakis and Asa Lacy; Vanderbilt position players JJ Bleday and Austin Martin; Mississippi State pitcher Ethan Small and outfielder Jake Mangum; Georgia pitcher Emerson Hancock; Kentucky pitcher Zack Thompson; and Missouri pitcher T.J. Sikkema.

Campbell is the first Arkansas player to be named a semifinalist since Andrew Benintendi won the Golden Spikes Award in 2015.

Campbell is 9-1 with a 2.57 ERA as the top starter for the No. 4 Razorbacks.

The redshirt junior right hander has a 6.5 strikeout-to-walk rate in 84 innings and is holding opponents to a .211 batting average.

Rutledge, who left Arkansas' program during the 2018 season, is having a breakout season at San Jacinto. The sophomore right hander has a 9-2 record and 0.87 ERA in 13 starts. Rutledge has 134 strikeouts and 30 walks in 82 2/3 innings.

Rutledge has signed with Kentucky, but is expected to be drafted in the early rounds of the MLB Draft next month and could sign professionally.

Unlike the Dick Howser Trophy that is for college players only, the Golden Spikes Award is awarded to the top amateur player regardless of competition level. Bobby Witt Jr., an infielder from Colleyville, Texas, who is signed to play for Oklahoma, is the first high school player ever named a semifinalist.

Only two non-NCAA Division I players have won the Golden Spikes - Miami-Dade Community College pitcher Alex Fernandez in 1990 and outfielder Bryce Harper at the College of Southern Nevada in 2010.

First baseman Andrew Vaughn of California is looking to become the first player to win the Golden Spikes twice. Vaughn won the award last year.

2019 Golden Spikes Award Semifinalists

Hunter Bishop, Jr., OF, Arizona State

JJ Bleday, Jr., OF, Vanderbilt

Isaiah Campbell, R-Jr., P, Arkansas

Reid Detmers, So., P, Louisville

John Doxakis, Jr., P, Texas A&M

Ryan Garcia, Jr., P, UCLA

Nick Gonzales, So., INF, New Mexico State

Emerson Hancock, So., P, Georgia

Kody Hoese, Jr., INF, Tulane

Josh Jung, Jr., INF, Texas Tech

George Kirby, Jr., P, Elon

Asa Lacy, So., P, Texas A&M

Jake Mangum, Sr., OF, Mississippi State

Alek Manoah, Jr., P, West Virginia

Austin Martin, So., INF, Vanderbilt

Jackson Rutledge, So., P, San Jacinto Junior College

Adley Rutschman, Jr., C, Oregon State

T.J. Sikkema, Jr., P, Missouri

Ethan Small, R-Jr., P, Mississippi State

Noah Song, Sr., P, Navy

Bryson Stott, Jr., INF, UNLV

Zack Thompson, Jr., P, Kentucky

Spencer Torkelson, So., INF, Arizona State

Andrew Vaughn, Jr., INF, California

Bobby Witt Jr., HS-Sr., INF, Colleyville-Heritage (Texas) High School


Have a comment on this story? Join the discussion or start a new one on the Forums.