Arkansas' Owens-Delerme captures decathlon title

By: Bob Holt Bob Holt's Twitter account
Published: Friday, June 10, 2022
Arkansas' Ayden Owens-Delerme competes in the pole vault on June 9, 2022, at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore.
( Robert Black )
Arkansas' Ayden Owens-Delerme competes in the pole vault on June 9, 2022, at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore.

Arkansas junior Ayden Owens-Delerme is the first Razorback to win the national decathlon title.

Owens-Delerme scored 8,457 points, matching the meet record, to win the decathlon at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Thursday night at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore.

It was the second NCAA title for Owens-Delerme this year along with winning the heptathlon at the indoor championships.

Owens-Delerme now shares the NCAA meet decathlon record with Ashton Eaton, who scored 8,457 points for Oregon in 2010

Going into the 1,500, the final event, Owens-Delerme had 7,709 points — an 11-point lead over Texas sophomore Leo Neugebauer.

Owens-Delerme ran 4 minutes, 29.54 seconds to clinch the title with Neugebauer running 4:42.58 to finish second with 8,362 points.

Arkansas junior Daniel Spejcher finished seventh in the decathlon with 7,744 points.

Georgia junior Kyle Garland was third with 7,665 points.

Garland broke Owens-Delerme’s collegiate record by scoring 8,720 points on May 7 to finish second at the USA Champions held at Arkansas’ John McDonnell Field.

Owens-Delerme had set the record of 8,578 points on April 15 at the Mount San Antonio College Relays in Walnut, Calif.

Owens-Delerme had a personal-best discus throw of 151 feet, 9 inches to highlight his Thursday events. He ran the 110-meter hurdles in 13.93, cleared 14-9 1/2 in the pole vault and threw the javelin 183-11.

Spejcher had a personal-best 190-7 throw in the javelin. His other marks Thursday were 14.38 in the 110 hurdles, 15-9 1/4 in the pole vault, 137-11 in the discus and 4:46.33 in the 1,500.

In women’s competition Thursday night, Arkansas junior Amada Fassold cleared a personal-best 14-11 in the pole vault to take second.

Fassold, the SEC champion competing just two hours from her hometown of Hillsboro, Ore., missed two attempts at 15-1. Her final attempt was a miss at 15-3.

Louisville senior Gabriel Leon won with a clearance of 15-1.

Arkansas junior Bailee McCorkle cleared 13-9 1/4 to finish 10th. Junior Mackenzie Hayward failed to clear the opening height of 12-9 1/2.

Arkansas junior Lauren Gregory did not finish the 10,000.

Sophomore Britton Wilson ran 54.72 in the 400-meter hurdles to advance to the final for the Razorbacks.

Wilson, a transfer from Tennessee, is the national leader this season with a 53.75 she ran to win the SEC title.

Florida sophomore Anna Hall, who won the heptathlon at the USA Champions, had the top qualifying time in the 400 hurdles at 54.48

Wilson ended Thursday night’s events by anchoring Arkansas to a qualifying time of 3:27.52 in the 1,600 relay. She ran 50.77 seconds on her split for a team that included senior Morgan Burks-Magee, freshman Rosey Effiong and senior Jada Baylark.

Senior Logan Jolly ran an Arkansas school-record 9:38.13 in the 3,000-meter steeplechase semifinals to lead all qualifiers for the final. She broke the mark of Krissy Gear, who ran 9:38.62 last year.

Gear, a senior, ran a season-best 4:13.48 to qualify for the 1,500 final.

Effiong advanced to the 400 final, running 51.06. Burks-Magee ran 52.02 and did not make the final.

Baylark ran 11.21 in the 100 to take 14th in the semifinals and did not advance.


Have a comment on this story? Join the discussion or start a new one on the Forums.