Arkansas AD Yurachek added to College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Arkansas Athletic Director Hunter Yurachek looks on from the sideline, Friday, Nov. 24, 2023, during the first quarter of the Razorbacks’ 48-14 loss to the Missouri Tigers at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium in Fayetteville. Visit for today's photo gallery..(NWA Democrat-Gazette/Hank Layton)

FAYETTEVILLE — Arkansas athletics director Hunter Yurachek was added to the College Football Playoff Selection Committee on Thursday. He is one of 13 people on the board and will serve for three seasons beginning this year.

The 2024 playoff will be the first with 12 teams, expanding from the four-team format that was began in 2014. 

Yurachek is Arkansas' third representative on the committee, joining former athletics director Jeff Long (2014-17) and former football coach Ken Hatfield (2018-20).

Yurachek will also keep his current position on the NCAA Division I Football Oversight Committee.

“It is truly an honor that the CFP Management Committee has appointed me to serve on the selection committee, especially at such a transformational time in the history of college football and the playoff,” Yurachek said in a news release. "As we all enter this new era, I look forward to working alongside my fellow selection committee members to continue to foster the growth of this wonderful game.”

Yurachek joins Washington State athletics director Patrick Chun, Baylor athletics director Mack Rhodes, Virginia athletics director Carla Williams, former Missouri and Toledo coach Gary Pinkel and former Arizona State defensive lineman Randal McDaniel as new additions to the committee. They replace Mitch Barnhart, Boo Corrigan, Mark Harlan, Gene Taylor and Joe West, whose three-year terms each expired.

“[The knew members'] knowledge, passion and character, along with their understanding of college football," CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in the release, "will allow them to make the transition seamlessly with the returning members.”