UA track programs collect 31 All-America honors

By: Scottie Bordelon
Published: Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Hurdles are stacked on Friday, April 27, 2018, at John McDonnell Field in Fayetteville.
Photo by Ben Goff
Hurdles are stacked on Friday, April 27, 2018, at John McDonnell Field in Fayetteville.

FAYETTEVILLE — Arkansas’ women’s track and field team totaled 17 All-America honors from the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association for the 2019-20 indoor season Tuesday.

The 17 All-America nods, collected by 11 athletes, are the most of any women’s program in the country. The honors are based on which athletes qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships, which was canceled due to concerns regarding the coronavirus.

Katie Izzo and Carina Viljoen earned three All-America honors each for the indoor season. Izzo received the honors after qualifying in the 3,000 meters, 5,000 and distance medley relay. Viljoen earned the honor for qualifying in the 1,500, 3,000 and DMR.

Morgan Burks-Magee (1,600-meter relay, DMR) and Krissy Gear (1,500 meter, DMR) also received a pair of honors.

Devin Clark (5,000), G’Auna Edwards (long jump), Rosey Effiong, Paris Peoples and Tiana Wilson (1,600-meter relay), and Lauren Martinez and Bailee McCorkle (pole vault) were awarded individual honors.

Eleven members of the Razorbacks’ men’s track and field team collected 14 USTFCCCA All-America honors, bringing Arkansas’ combined total to a nation's-best 31, two more than LSU.

The 14 men’s honors tied for the most nationally with Minnesota and Oregon.

Jeremy Farr (400, 1,600-meter relay), Cameron Griffith (3,000, DMR) and Laquan Nairn (long jump, triple jump) each earned a pair of All-America honors.

Markus Ballengee (heptathlon), Kris Hari (60) Travean Caldwell, Luke George and Kieran Taylor (DMR), and Jalen Brown, Lesley Mahlakoane and Hunter Woodhall (1,600-meter relay) were awarded individual honors.


Have a comment on this story? Join the discussion or start a new one on the Forums.