3 Hogs named All-SEC basketball players

Arkansas guard Anthony Black flexes during a game against Georgia on Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2023, in Fayetteville.

FAYETTEVILLE — Three Arkansas basketball players received All-SEC recognition from the league's coaches Monday.

Guards Anthony Black and Ricky Council were named to the eight-player All-SEC second team, and Black was selected to the All-Freshman team.

Guard Davonte Davis was selected to the All-Defensive team.

Council leads the Razorbacks in scoring at 16.5 points per game. He also led Arkansas in scoring in conference play (14.9).

Council scored 20-plus points in 10 games, including a season-high 27 in the Razorbacks’ win over Troy on Nov. 28. He scored in double figures in all but three games.

Black, the lone Arkansas player to start all 31 games, has had a wide-ranging impact for the Razorbacks. He is third on the team in scoring at 12.8 points per game, first in assists (129) and steals (61), and second in total rebounds (158).

Black, who has played a team-high 1,074 minutes, is also third in blocks (16), trailing Makhel Mitchell and Makhi Mitchell.

“I think Anthony’s one of the best players in the country,” Arkansas coach Eric Musselman said last week. “He's got an incredibly bright future. We hope that he feels like he’s improved greatly playing in this system and I hope that he feels, like all of our players, that they’ve been given a lot of offensive freedom to grow their game.”

Davis is second on the team with 41 steals. He recorded two or more steals in 14 games.

Davis also averaged 10.8 points per game and shot 41.5% from three-point range in SEC play, and was regularly tasked with defending an opponent’s top perimeter player.

“He’s been a defensive stopper for us all season long,” Musselman said Saturday.

Arkansas returns to play Thursday against Auburn at the SEC Tournament. Tipoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. on SEC Network.

First team

Brandon Miller, Alabama

Colin Castleton, Florida

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Tolu Smith, Mississippi State

Kobe Brown, Missouri

Santiago Vescovi, Tennessee

Wade Taylor, Texas A&M

Liam Robbins, Vanderbilt

Second team

Mark Sears, Alabama

Anthony Black, Arkansas

Ricky Council, Arkansas

Johni Broome, Auburn

Wendell Green, Auburn

KJ Williams, LSU

Zakai Zeigler, Tennessee

Tyrece Radford, Texas A&M

All-Defensive team

Charles Bediako, Alabama

Davonte Davis, Arkansas

Colin Castleton, Florida

Zakai Zeigler, Tennessee

Liam Robbins, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman team

Jaden Bradley, Alabama

Noah Clowney, Alabama

Brandon Miller, Alabama

Anthony Black, Arkansas

Riley Kugel, Florida

Chris Livingston, Kentucky

Cason Wallace, Kentucky

Gregory “GG” Jackson, South Carolina

Julian Phillips, Tennessee

Co-Coach of the Year: Buzz Williams, Texas A&M and Jerry Stackhouse, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year: Brandon Miller, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kobe Brown, Missouri

Freshman of the Year: Brandon Miller, Alabama

Co-Sixth-Man of the Year: Jahvon Quinerly, Alabama and Antonio Reeves, Kentucky

Defensive Player of the Year: Liam Robbins, Vanderbilt